School Board Appreciation

Superintendent Adkins announces that as Kentucky observes School Board Recognition Month in January, Floyd County Schools is joining in the celebration.


Linda Gearheart, William “Junior” Newsome, Dr. Chandra Varia, Keith Smallwood and Steve Slone are among the more than 850 school board members in the state’s 171 local school districts being recognized this month for their service.


This is the perfect time to thank school board members for serving in a role that has become increasingly complex, said Ronnie Holmes, president of the Kentucky School Boards Association and chairman of the Graves County school board.


“Members of the Floyd County Board of Education are responsible for making decisions aimed at ensuring that every child in their district has a chance to be successful both in school and in life,” Holmes said. “To do that, members oversee a multi)-million dollar budget, keep up with changing education laws and policies, and spend hours on professional learning and state-mandated training.”

Keith Smallwood is the new board member for District 4. Smallwood is a retired family resource and youth service center director for Floyd County Schools. The new board member for District 5 is Steve Slone. Slone is self-employed.


Superintendent Adkins comments, “We are blessed here in Floyd County in that we have so many folks who want to have the best possible schools for our children. We welcome new members Keith Smallwood and Steve Slone and are excited to work with them to keep providing amazing opportunities for all children.”


“During these unprecedented times, our school board members haven’t flinched in the face of the challenges or shied away from their responsibilities,” Adkins says. “Our community can be very proud of our past and current board members, and I’m proud to be their partner as we strive for the best for our students.”