FRYSC Appreciation

Superintendent Adkins wants to let everyone know that February 10, 2021 is Family Resource and Youth Service Centers Appreciation Day across Kentucky.

Superintendent Adkins comments, “We are thrilled to have a day set aside that recognizes several of our unsung heroes. Our FRYSC coordinators are some of the most service and community oriented people I know. Their commitment to our students and families is unmatched.” Adkins continues, “Whether it is helping students with clothing or school supplies or finding resources to support the family at home like assistance with electricity, these folks are prepared to do what it takes to remove any barriers for our students. They match students with organizations to make sure they have glasses, medical services, clothing and more. I’ve not even mentioned a fraction of the different ways our FRYSCs help support our schools, students and families. The superpower of a FRYSC is serving others.”

Family Resource Youth Services Centers have been significantly impacting the lives of students and families in Kentucky for over 30 years. These centers are designed to address the needs of children by developing partnerships with school, family and community to help all public school students. K-5 schools have Family Resource Coordinators, K-8 schools have Family Resource and Youth Service Center Coordinators, and middle and high schools have Youth Service Center coordinators. These distinctions are centered around the ages of the students in the different stages of education.

Adkins concludes, “We love what our FRYSCs do for our students, our families and our schools. Please join us in thanking these amazing people and supporting the incredible work they do.”

FRYSCs include the following rockstars: Kay Rodebaugh, Allen Elementary; Michelle Keathley, Adams MS; Deanna Spencer, Betsy Layne ES; Anita Tackett, Betsy Layne HS; Scott Shannon, Duff-Allen Central ES, Teresa Griffith, Floyd Central HS; Sharon Collins, May Valley ES; Rebial Reynolds, Prestonsburg ES; Charlotte Hall, Prestonsburg HS; Cissy Williams, South Floyd ES; and Angie Martin, Stumbo ES.


Staff collage