2022 Rogers Explorers

Floyd County Schools Superintendent Anna Shepherd congratulates our 2022 Rogers Explorers. 

Shepherd says, “Congratulations Tori, Mia, Lara Beth, Alexandria, Ally and Hunter! We’re very proud of these students and we’re thrilled to have six Explorers this year!” Shepherd says “Students apply during 8th grade and if selected, attend a three day summer session at a Kentucky College or university. We want parents and families to know about this great opportunity for all students who have a B average or better. ”

Rogers Explorers was formed in 2006 as a way to reach more young people and steer them in the direction of careers most in demand and leadership. These intense three days are filled with science, technology, engineering, math, community service and fun thanks to The Center for Rural Development in partnership with Asbury University, Eastern Kentucky University, Lindsey Wilson College, Morehead State University, Union College, University of the Cumberlands and the University of Pikeville. 

Superintendent Shepherd ends by saying, “Please join us in congratulating these future leaders. We can’t wait to see the ideas and projects they come back with next school year!”

Tori Bradfor

Tori Bradford, South Floyd Elementary

Family: April Bradford

Mia Queen-Gillam

Mia Queen-Gillam, Duff-Allen Central Elementary

Family: Nikki Gillam, David Gillam 


Lara Beth Hall

Lara Beth Hall, Duff-Allen Central Elementary

Family: Beth Hall, Jeremy Hall

Alexandria Hamilton

Alexandria Hamilton, Betsy Layne Elementary

Family: Helen Hamilton, Jimmy Hamilton 


Ally Hamilton

Ally Hamilton, Adams Middle 

Family: Susan Hamilton, Danny Hamilton


Hunter Stumbo

Hunter Stumbo, South Floyd Elementary

Family: Kim Stumbo, James Stumbo

*For more information on Rogers Explorers, visit https://centeryouthprograms.com/rogers-explorers/