Floyd STLP Teams Are Going to Rupp Arena

Floyd County Schools Superintendent Anna Shepherd congratulates our state-bound Student Technology Leadership Program (STLP) students. 

Shepherd comments, “Congratulations to our STLP teams and coaches! All schools in our district will be represented at the state competition this year and we’re so excited to see them in the spotlight!” Shepherd continues, “As our district level coordinator for STLP Mike Bell always says, these students have spent hours and hours creating, building, working on and revising projects, and these projects are to help others. Learning teamwork, along with technology and a multitude of other skills with the goal of helping others may just be one of the best things our students can be involved in at school.” 

On Monday night, the Floyd County Board of Education hosted a District Send Off Celebration for all state bound STLP students with the Floyd Central Stage Band providing entertainment. Special thanks to Mike Bell for wanting to ensure that students knew the scope of their accomplishment deserved nothing less. Superintendent Shepherd, Chief Information Officer Denise Isaac and KETS Engineer Courtney Derossett celebrated and cheered students’ accomplishments so far with the promise of seeing them at state. Special thanks to Mayor Les Stapleton and the City of Prestonsburg for shooting fireworks at the end of the celebration in honor of the 160 students traveling to Rupp Arena. 

The following students will travel to Rupp Arena to compete at the state level:

From Adams Middle, Aidan Mynhier, Ally Hamilton, Isaac Stewart, Kaden Blackburn, Madeline Lewis, Preston Robinson, Addison Blackburn, Ashley Mahan, and Ava Huynh.

From Allen Elementary, Brookelyn Fountain, Caleb Combs, Chasity Mullins, Damon Scott, Daniel Mullins, Darby Combs, Dustin Damron, Dylan Hamilton, Faith Damron, Jia Johnson, Kayden Johnson, Konner King, Kynli Jarrell, Natalie Justice, Sierra Slone and Timothy Combs

From Betsy Layne Elementary, Allie Hamilton, Andrew Collins, Brennan Fleenor, Colten Hamilton, Eli Mitchell, Hailey Akers, Hannah Mitchell, Lincoln Hamilton, Marvin Lee and Max Newsome.

From Betsy Layne High, Bentley Koger, Bradley Jervis, Byron Tackett, Chase Mims, Chelsea Lewis, Derek Kidd, Ethan Stanley, Kennedy Boyette and Michael Kidd.

From Duff-Allen Central Elementary, Alaina Morris, Carli Artrip, Colin Gearheart, Drew Akers, Jamesy Lance, Jaycee Hagans, Kylie Walters, Lara Beth Hall, Lydia Wallace, Mia Queen-Gillam, Mileigh Kilburn, Reagan Laferty, Taryn Meade and Whitley Hall.

From Floyd Central High, Alexa Morris, Ashley Bellamy, Caley Howard, Gabby Howard, Grace Martin, Hailey Little, Jacob Johnson, Jada Johnson, JerriLynn Hatfield, Karrie Hall, Kayli Caudill, Kennedy Harvel, Kimberly Music, Laci O'Quinn, Lauren Gearheart, Layla Petersen, Lindsey Marshall, Lindsey Whitaker, Logan Ousley, Madison Lawson, Madison Thornsberry, Mason Caudill, Matt Johnson, Olivia McKinney, Riley-Jo Compton, Ruthie Bays, Sheston Johnson, Taylor Allen, Todd Prater and Zach Goble.

From the Floyd County School of Innovation, Adam Artrip, Ally Stumbo, Amelia Wallace, Caidence Mullins, Cameron Morrison, Chanda Caudill, Conner Lockhart, Elijah Kidd, Emma Bailey, Ethan Hall, Gracie Mcadavid, Grant Wright, Hunter Hall, JD Fraley, Kaden Lewis, Kamryn Shannon, Kelley Tussey, Kendyl Hall, Logan Morrison, Lydia Clark, Mason Buck, Matthew Johnson, Peyton Crase, Reece Hamilton, Sean Conn, Tanner Morrison, Todd Prater and Zachery Hunter.

From John M Stumbo Elementary, Jessa Johnson, Jonah Watts, Julia Johnson and Noah Watts.

From May Valley Elementary, Adalyn Hall, Aleena Lafferty, Alyssa Osborne, Axel Miller, Carley Hatfield, Emily Moore, Gracie Cook, Haley Ross, Jayden Isaac, Kinley Allen, Madalyn Hollifield and Sophie Jones.

From Prestonsburg Elementary, Ashton Chaffins, Brayden Tussey, Evalee Brewer, Hunter Wilcox, Ian Holbrook, Liliana Craig and Madison Adkins.

From Prestonsburg High, Allyson Springer, Alyssa Goodman, Hannah Dixon, Jade Hylton, Madison Hammond, Madison Wilcox, Sara Springer and Teresa Johnson.

From South Floyd Elementary, Canyon Little, Carter Hall, Chaelea Rogers, Heaven Yates, Hunter Stumbo, Julionna Holbrook, Lakyn Johnson, Maliyah Walker, McKenzie Wilhite, Phoenix Reed, Rae Johnson and Sofiya Cook.